Tuesday, December 31, 2013

Exclusive Excerpt of The Professional: Part 2

Boom. Boom. Boom.

I woke in one of the yacht’s cabins, tucked under the covers. I had vague recollections of repeatedly jerking awake against Sevastyan’s side, until I’d gone under for good. He’d moved me? And changed my clothes? I was dressed only in one of his undershirts.

It was still dark outside, but I had no idea what time it might be; fall in Russia meant vanishing hours of light.

I could tell we were stationary. Maybe Sevastyan had finally come down here to rest.

Boom. Boom. What was that hammering sound? I rose to investigate, making my way toward the source until I reached the door to another cabin.

When Sevastyan didn’t answer my knock, I eased the door open. I heard the shower running—and the booming was coming from within that bathroom.

As a sinking suspicion took hold, I hastened into the bathroom. I sucked in a breath at the scene before me.

Naked under the spray of water, with his eyes glazed over and his teeth bared, Sevastyan was punching the stone shower enclosure with his battered fists. The steaming cascade hit his chest as he struck, over and over, as if at an invisible enemy.

If he’d been granite under pressure before, now he was fracturing right before my eyes—just like the stone he pummeled.

“What are you doing?” I cried. How could he keep this up? His fists bled; more blood trickled from a knot of cloth he’d tied tight around his bicep, his idea of a bandage for his bullet wound. It formed a groove between rigid bulges of muscle. “Please stop!”

He didn’t.

“Stop!” Heedless, I tore open the shower door and scrambled inside, grasping his uninjured arm with both hands.

He was a killer, volatile and violent, but I felt no fear of him. Not even when he whirled around on me, black hair whipping over his cheek. He was breathtaking. Real. Raw.

That sense of connection to him flared like a blinding light.

Between gritted teeth, he said, “Leave.” His amber eyes were filled with such pain.

I could ease it. “I won’t leave you like this.”

“Why? You don’t give a fuck about me. Not beyond what I can do for you.”

Did he mean beyond pleasure? Beyond his protection? “You’re so wrong, Sevastyan.”

He just stared at me. What was he looking for? Permission? Understanding? Finally he moved, placing his palms on the wall on either side of my head, boxing me in.

His mafiya star tattoos were at my eye level, mere inches away, beckoning me. I wanted to wrap my arms around him and press my lips to his chest.

Kiss him and kiss him and kiss him until all his pain disappeared.

Tentatively, I leaned forward to graze my lips over one of his tattoos. He flinched as if I’d struck him, but he didn’t stop me. I chanced a brush of my lips over his neck. He was motionless, a statue on the outside, a ruthless enforcer on the inside.

I nuzzled the rugged line of his jaw. I tugged those locks of hair away from his face, then kissed the chiseled cheek I revealed.

When I slanted my lips over his, he shuddered out a breath and drew back. Blazing in his gaze was that bone-deep yearning, the one that called to mine. “What do you want from me, Natalie?”

How to articulate it? I want to kiss you until you forget your pain for a time, want to hold you tight against me because I can’t seem to get my body close enough to yours. In other words . . . “I want you to make love to me.”

Before, I hadn’t slept with him because of the future and consequences. I wasn’t sure I’d live long enough to enjoy the former, so I couldn’t be bothered with the latter.

At my admission, his brows drew tight; he looked like he was unraveling.

I asked him, “What do you want from me?”

I gasped when he fisted the collar of my T-shirt. “I want what’s mine.” He tore the material from me with one rip, making me tremble. He raked his gaze over my naked body, giving a tortured groan.

He looked at me like a man plummeting toward death would look at a pair of wings. As if I were the difference between life or death for him.

I laid my palms over his star tattoos; he cupped my face. His forehead met mine. We stayed like that for long moments.

When he took my mouth with his at last, I parted my lips in welcome, closing my eyes as he softly kissed me. God, I loved his taste, wanted to drink in the heat of his mouth.

As ever, I was struck by the contradictions of this man. He was tender, yet carnal. His thoughts were a mystery, but his body told a story—of his restraint: rippling muscles, heaving chest, shaking hands.

With a groan, he flicked his tongue harder against mine, telling me that he was about to deepen this kiss. Telling me that he was about to claim this part of me, with the rest of my body to follow.

That he was about to conquer. . . .

Excited? So was I!!! Too bad we have to wait until the 6th to see more *sigh*
Until then, bye everyone! Have a great New Year's Eve!

Review: The Professional: Part 1 by Kresley Cole

He makes the rules . . .
Mafiya enforcer Aleksandr "The Siberian" Sevastyan’s loyalty to his boss is unwavering, until he meets the boss’s long-lost daughter, a curvy, tantalizing redhead who haunts his mind and heats his blood like no other. Ordered to protect her, Sevastyan will do anything to possess her as well—on his own wicked terms.

Rules are made to be broken . . .
PhD student Natalie Porter had barely recovered from her first sight of the breathtakingly gorgeous Sevastyan before the professional hit man whisks her away to Russia, thrusting her into a world of extreme wealth and wanton pleasures. With every day she spends under his protection, she falls deeper under his masterful spell.

Yet all is not as it seems. To remove Natalie from an enemy’s reach, Sevastyan spirits her into hiding. From an opulent palace in Russia to the decadent playgrounds of the mega-wealthy in Paris, the two lovers will discover that even their darkest—and most forbidden—fantasies can come true…

~Owned as Kindle eBook; 120 pages

The first time I saw this book it was through an email I got from Netgalley, asking me whether or not I wanted to request it since apparently it matched my tastes. Deciding to take the (very high) chances of a refusal, I requested it. On the bright side, I never was refused. I wasn't accepted either though; I guess I'm still on their waiting list. I pretty much completely forgot about this book again until one of my Goodreads friends started reading it. Reading the synopsis again, I downloaded the book on my kindle, determined to read it right after I finished the one I was currently reading at the time. It was about 1:00 A.M. when I started, and almost 2:45 A.M. when I finished. Let's just say I'm glad I read this book.

I went in expecting a lot since I've had experience with Kresley Cole, and she's never let me down before. Amazingly, that stayed true, though I do have one specific disappointment. We'll get to that later. The entire book is told from Natalie's POV, and she meets Hot, Russian Dude, aka Sevastyan, almost immediately in the first chapter. It was definitely the first "this is so HOT!" scene in the novel, what with Natalie aka The Not-Nun Virgin asking Sevastyan if she could buy him drinks, a few questions in between, and Sev storming out of the bar with disgust and desire in his eyes. That's basically the background of the whole novella.

I really liked Sev, and dang was he obviously one of those BDSM cases. It doesn't specifically stated in the book, but in a way, it really does. I'm guessing Sev has a scarred past and all, but let's get this straight: this is NOTHING like Fifty Shades of Grey. They are two completely different things, although if you liked that, this might be something to take a look at. For people who hate Christian Grey with every gut in their body, the two books are still very different, Sev is more manly, and - at least in this novella - the BDSM stuff is toned down, though still very intense. Judging by the synopsis and the end of this book, I don't think I'll be able to say the same for the others in the series.

So my disappointment? Believe it or not, I was kind-of, sort-of hoping to read about the "decadent playgrounds of the mega-wealthy" mentioned up in the synopsis. I know, I know, I'm a freak. But what can I say? My curiosity has gotten the better of me. Ignoring that though, this book was great, including everything from a Russian mafiya to a kind of creepy, flirt-errific cuz. And no one can forget about Sev, the killer commonly referred to as The Siberian, who says some amazingly romantic things to Natalie, such as “Understand me, girl, I will eliminate any threat to you, pitilessly.” (I'm not sure if I meant that sarcastically or not...probably not). Anyhow, I really enjoyed reading this book, and can't wait to read the next book when it comes out...wait for it...in exactly 6 days!!
Title: The Professional: Part 1
Author: Kresley Cole
Released December 16, 2013
Publisher: Pocket Star
Genre: Erotica, Romance

Monday, December 30, 2013

Review: Fancy Pants (Texas Historical Series #1) by Cathy Marie Hake

When Britisher Lady Sydney Hathwell's father dies, the American who planned to wed her suddenly reneges. Stranded in America and penniless, Sydney contacts a relative in Texas who, mistaking her male-sounding name, invites his "nephew" to join him on his ranch. "Big Tim" Creighton, however, is appalled when this mincing fop arrives at Forsaken. He determines he'll turn Fancy Pants Hathwell into a man before the boss returns home. From the get-go, he has "the kid" mucking stalls, clearing and plowing a field, and assisting with a difficult calving. But when Sydney's true identity is uncovered, Tim resents being deceived. Yet in time, he also finds that he doesn't like all the attention Sydney garners now that she's wearing pretty gowns...Together Sydney and Tim will discover the importance of family and what it means to be a man--and a woman--of God.

~Owned as Kindle eBook; 382 pages~

"Velma came over, got up on tiptoe, and whispered, 'Big Tim, put Sydney down. It'll save time when you have to punch that man in the nose.'"

Pretty much this entire book was a roar and just about every sentence killed me, especially when Miss Fancy Pants up there was dressed as a boy. Every single time Big Tim threatened Sydney or chopped off her hair, every time one of the farm hands threw her into the whorehouse (as a boy) or forced her to drink beer, I was just waiting for the moment the truth came out and everyone would start treating Syd like she should be treated. After the truth comes out though, everyone's reaction was exactly as expected. Everyone's but Tim's, that is.

I've been reading a lot of Christian and Historical Fiction lately and so thought I'd get bored of this soon enough (I can never read the same genre too many times in a row). However, right from the start, this book kept me hooked. Starting from when readers first meet Syd's supposed-to-be, SOB (excuse the language) husband, up until the very happiest of ever afters, this romantic journey was a delight to behold. I found myself constantly glaring and muttering during the first half of the book, and then laughing and outright bawling non-stop during the second half. That proved to be a problem, what with me pretending to be asleep under the covers and all. I've been known to stay up late reading, but this book kept me up 'till 4 in the morning! If that doesn't tell you what an amazing book this was, I don't know what will.

I know lots of people have problems with books that preach, and this one certainly does. I suppose that's why it's shelved under Christian Fiction (note the sarcasm please). If it's not obvious from the cover and the synopsis that this is a book for Godly folks - or at the very least, God-tolerating folks - I hope I was able to clear that up. I know you don't want to hear about my thoughts on the religious aspect of this book, so I'm going to make this short. I'm not saying I agree or disagree with Tim's POV that everyone is a sinner, and that no matter how many mistakes you make, God will forgive you and you'll go to Heaven (I agree with the former and have doubts on the latter). Still, Tim's thoughts about God definitely had me thinking harder than I ever did that early in the morning. I know I've said this before, but it never ceases to amaze me how much more I understand about God when reading these types of books than compared to when I read the Bible.

The romance was for sure my favorite part of the book, though it seemed a miracle how quickly Tim went from hating Syd and believing her a manipulative devil, to being a loving, possessive hulk of a man. It was cute, but personally, I don't think it really happens that way. I do have a weak spot for alpha men though, so it was quite easy to forgive Big Tim for all his mishaps;) This is the first book I've read by Cathy, and I can truthfully say I'll be looking forward to reading even more of her books. Possibly all of her books.

Here's a little sneak-peak at a very interesting conversation about eggs. You really won't want to miss out on this.

“We’re having eggs for supper.”
Tim shot her an accusing look. “Just eggs. No brains. Apparently someone gave half of them to Pancake for the cowboys’ breakfast, and the other half went home with the Smiths. Would you know anything about that?”
She didn’t bother to smother her smile. “Why, Mr. Creighton, it’s a pity Velma isn’t here to be a witness.”
“Afraid I’m going to strangle you?”
She shook her head. “You’d never hurt me. But it’s not often a man confesses he’s brainless.”
He gave her an outraged look. “For that, Fancy Pants, I’m going to burn your eggs.”
“You would have burned them, regardless.” She held the coffeepot beneath the pump and started to fill it.
“I happen to be quite adept at making eggs.”
“I thought hens laid eggs. You don’t look like a hen to me.” She paused a moment. “I haven’t figured out something, though. How do you know whether the egg is for eating or hatching?”
“You don’t.” Tim held up an egg. His huge hand dwarfed it. “You take your chances.”
“You cannot be serious!” Her voice reflected her horror.
Tim shrugged. Turning toward the pan, he changed his hold on the egg. “Why do you think Velma mixes brains with the eggs?”
“You are perfectly dreadful, Mr. Creighton.”

Title: Fancy Pants
Author: Cathy Marie Hake
Publisher: Bethany House Publishers
Released September 1, 2007
Genre: Christian Fiction

Sunday, December 29, 2013

Back 2 School Giveaway!

I don't know about you, but I'm feeling kind of down about the fact that there's only < 3.5 days 'till school starts up again. I thought that many of you guys might be feeling the same way, and so I took it upon myself to to cheer you guys up a bit. Hence, this giveaway (see, I am psychic!!). In this giveaway you get to choose which book you want from the below listed books, so choose wisely! You can click on the covers to see the Goodreads. Good luck, and I hope you feel at least the tiniest bit happier!!:)

Like I said before, the giveaway is hosted by moi. Hope you like it!
Winners must contact me within 48 hours to receive their eBooks, or another winner will be chosen.

  • Open internationally
  • 2 lucky winners!!
  • Chosen book sent as eBook in desired format
  • Giveaway ends February 14, 2014 (what better day than Valentine's Day to win a romantic book!)
  • Complete terms and conditions found on Rafflecopter

Good luck and cheer up!:)

Movie Review: Easy A

After a little white lie about losing her virginity gets out, a clean cut high school girl sees her life paralleling Hester Prynne's in "The Scarlet Letter," which she is currently studying in school - until she decides to use the rumor mill to advance her social and financial standing.
~ Sony Pictures

I watched this movie a couple days after Christmas after falling in love with the trailer, which you can watch at the bottom of the post. Sure, it's not very holiday-y, but there's just something irresistible about a "clean cut high school girl" lying about losing her V-card and becoming the school whore without, well, actually becoming the school whore.

First up, the acting was amazing. I mean, I wouldn't expect anything less of Emma Stone, but still. Her character in this is very similar to that in Crazy, Stupid Love. In both movies, she plays the innocent teenager. It works for her. The cast of characters is great: there's a group of God-crazy teens trying to fix the world and ending up scaring the bejeezus out of everyone, the cheating, lying, inappropriate counselor, Woodchuck Todd, all those nerdy guys who pay Olivia for a "bang", and of course, Olivia's sweet, humorous, loving family. If only all families were like that...

This movie is pretty fast-paced and there's never a boring moment. Of course, it's inappropriate for children, but there aren't any inappropriate scenes. I want to say it's great for the entire family...but it's really not. Only teens please! Anyone looking for some laughs, or just wanting to pick themselves up after a bad day: this movie is perfect for you. The great news is that this movie is great for any time of the year. Just don't stay cuddled up next to the fire expecting a sweet romance, because while the movie is both sweet and romantic, it's more comedy than anything. Seeing how not-new this movie is, I'm guessing plenty of you have already watched it. Any agreements or disagreements you'd like to share? Comment below! For those of you who haven't watched this amazing movie yet, take the 2 min. and 33 sec. necesssary to watch the trailer below; it really is worth it.

So you still interested? If you are, here's a link to watch the movie. Enjoy!
--> http://www.solarmovie.so/link/play/944778/

Some tips for watching the video:
1. Click on Create Streaming Link
2. Enter the code to prove you're not an alien
3. When you're directed to the video page, don't click on the ad, but the play button on the video screen
4. There may be several ad pop-ups when going through this process...close them all
5. Have fun!
Movie: Easy A
Released September 17, 2010
Director: Will Gluck
MPAA Rating: PG-13
Screenplay: Bert V. Royal
Music Composed by: Brad Segal

An Extended Reign

As you may or may not have noticed from my edited banner and button, I will now also be doing movie reviews in addition to books reviews. You've probably seen that I've pretty much stopped doing book reviews, but not because I haven't been reading, (because I have), but because it's taking too much time from my studies, and you know what they say about 11th grade being the most important and all. But I have taken a liking to watching movies, watching romantic comedies, and while I've never written a movie review before, I thought I'd give it a try. And if it doesn't work out, I guess I'll just have to de-edit everything I re-edited. No biggie.

So if you've taken a look at my personal throne over on the left, you're probably wondering why I have one and you don't. Ignoring the fact that if you really wanted your own throne you could just make one, I have one because, like the title of this post explains, I've have hopefully successfully conquered both the reading world and now, the movie world as well. And guess what??!! I'm psychic too. Here's my first public prediction: I see a giveaway in your future.

Enjoy the rest of your holidays everyone! For people like me, there's only 4 more days 'till school starts (counting today), so make every day count!!;)

Tuesday, December 24, 2013

Review: His to Possess (His to Possess #1) by Opal Carew

Jessica’s life was in ruins…until she met him.

Standing in the rain feeling lost in a new city, with no job and no prospects, she’s about to give up. Until Dane Rainier pulls up in his limo and offers her a ride—and sweeps her into the life of her dreams. Now she has a high-powered job and is having the best sex of her life, exploring her submissive side under the masterful hand of a gorgeous billionaire.

But there’s a part of her that’s still holding back. Because the truth is, she’s never gotten over her ex-boyfriend Storm. A heavily muscled, motorcycle-riding rock musician, Storm couldn’t be any more different from Dane… and she just can’t get him out of her head.

Now Storm is about to reappear and turn her whole world upside down. Both Dane and Storm make her body burn to be possessed, but will her indecisive heart cost her the love of both men?

~A copy was received from St. Martin's Press for review~

First off, I want to wish everyone a very Merry Christmas Eve. I myself can't wait for tomorrow morning (or 12:01) so I can open my presents! I know what all but 2 of them are and those unknown 2 are driving me crazy. I guess I'll just have to wait...impatiently;) So how are all your holidays going? I'd love to hear!

Back to the review. So I was at this Christmas party a few days ago and was completely bored out of my mind. Usually we're barely invited anywhere and then suddenly all these people want us coming to their houses. Yeah. No thanks. But my parents thought differently and dragged me and my brother all the way to this stranger's house. An hour or two in, I gave in to my yearning to actually do something useful instead of just sitting there, and so I chose to read a book off of my waiting list. This was the shortest so I read and finished it at the same party.

The novella was pretty standard, I guess. For some reason, these sorts of novellas are always the same. Notice I didn't say similar, but THE SAME. There's a lost, lonely girl. A hot billionaire. The billionaire convinces the girl to have "submissive" sex with him. And BAM, she finds out that the hot guy she just did crazy stuff with is actually her boss. Like we didn't see that coming about a billion pages ago *snort*. Please excuse my cynicism and spoiler, but come on! I bet half of you thought that just by looking at the cover.

Just so you know, there's no BDSM handcuff style or anything, so you can thank or not-thank the author for that. Personally, I thought this book was really shallow, and that there was no depth to anything. The book was so fake it was almost funny, but I don't know whether it was because of that or the terrible main character that made me take this book none too seriously. It's just, it seemed Jessica had no thoughts of her own. And by her own admission, she would have thrown herself back into Storm's arms even though he dumped her. I just don't like weak characters like her. And obviously, don't read this if you hate Fifty Shades of Grey. Why would you even do that to yourself?

I don't want to be mean though. I'm sure plenty of people enjoy a super short, not-so-sweet, kind of boring, billionaire-boring girl story. Don't ask me who though, because I don't know anyone. It's almost Christmas though, and I don't want to get on Santa's naughty list, so....the cover of this book is actually pretty eye-catching:) And yes, I do mean that. Snarkiness aside, taking a look at this book as a novella, the book wasn't terrible, and it'll probably be more interesting when Storm makes an appearance. I won't be continuing this series (unless I'm at another boring Christmas party), but let me just get this out there: when deciding between Storm and Dane, I have to say that I'll go Team Dane. Even though he seems kind of stuffy, he's obviously the better option.
Title: His to Possess
Author: Opal Carew
Publisher: St. Martin's Press
Released December 24, 2013
Genre: Erotica, Romance

Friday, December 13, 2013

Happy Friday Giveaway: The Legend Trilogy by Marie Lu --> Winners!!

The giveaway ended about 22 hours ago and I'm super happy to announce the winners! The three winners that will receive all three ebooks from the Legend trilogy by Marie Lu are:

I've emailed all three winners with their prizes, and if there are any problems, please don't hesitate to contact me at keepersbookreviews@gmail.com. Congratulations to everyone who won!:)

Wednesday, November 20, 2013

Waiting on Wednesday (3)

WoW is a weeky meme hosted by Jill at 'Breaking the Spine'. All we do here is bring attention to a book we can't wait to be released, mostly in the hopes that we can share the pain of waiting for a book. 

This week's pick is one I've been dying to read:

Her Dark Curiosity (The Madman's Daughter #2)
by Megan Shepherd
Expected Publication: January 28th, 2014
Publisher: Balzer + Bray
Genre: YA, Romance, Retelling

To defeat the darkness, she must first embrace it.

Months have passed since Juliet Moreau returned to civilization after escaping her father's island—and the secrets she left behind. Now, back in London once more, she is rebuilding the life she once knew and trying to forget Dr. Moreau’s horrific legacy—though someone, or something, hasn’t forgotten her.

As people close to Juliet fall victim one by one to a murderer who leaves a macabre calling card of three clawlike slashes, Juliet fears one of her father’s creations may have also escaped the island. She is determined to find the killer before Scotland Yard does, though it means awakening sides of herself she had thought long banished, and facing loves from her past she never expected to see again.

As Juliet strives to stop a killer while searching for a serum to cure her own worsening illness, she finds herself once more in the midst of a world of scandal and danger. Her heart torn in two, past bubbling to the surface, life threatened by an obsessive killer—Juliet will be lucky to escape alive.

With inspiration from Robert Louis Stevenson’s The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde, this is a tantalizing mystery about the hidden natures of those we love and how far we’ll go to save them from themselves.

Ever since I first read The Madman's Daughter, I knew I needed this book as soon as possible. The first book was just so creepily awesome, though people who're vegetarians or vegans because they love animals should probably stay really far away from this entire series. I, however, am an omnivore, and trust me, I'd bribe the author and publisher for an ARC if I could.

Monday, November 18, 2013

Review: The Dark Unwinding (The Dark Unwinding #1) by Sharon Cameron

When Katharine Tulman’s inheritance is called into question by the rumor that her eccentric uncle is squandering away the family fortune, she is sent to his estate to have him committed to an asylum. But instead of a lunatic, Katharine discovers a genius inventor with his own set of rules, who employs a village of nine hundred people rescued from the workhouses of London.

Katharine is now torn between protecting her own inheritance and preserving the peculiar community she grows to care for deeply. And her choices are made even more complicated by a handsome apprentice, a secretive student, and fears for her own sanity.

As the mysteries of the estate begin to unravel, it is clear that not only is her uncle’s world at stake, but also the state of England as Katharine knows it.

~Borrowed from library; 318 pages~

This is one of the most original steampunks I've ever read in my life, partly because this book is just so darn unique, and also because I don't really read that much steampunk. Though the plot and the characters were great to read about, none of it could have been attention-grabbing without a decent writing style and setting. Luckily, this book had both. Sharon Cameron's dark, self-depreciating writing drew me in almost at once, and the creepy, historical village setting was etched vividly into my mind whenever I read the book. This awesome combination of elements kept me reading this book almost non-stop until I finished it.

In most books, the reader ends up admiring the main character almost at once, right? Well, not with this book. Almost until half the book - or at least for a third of it - I absolutely loathed Katharine. I liked that her circumstances put her in a position where life wasn't easy, what with having an evil aunt and no inheritance and all, but I hated that she lacked the courage to do anything about her position, or at least show some sass to her aunt, the she-devil. Even worse than that though, was the fact that Katharine was willing to do anything to increase her chances of success in life, including send off her uncle to an asylum. She was so very selfish, and while that was the main aspect of her personality that I hated, it also acted to help her be more true to life.

There was one person I hated much, much more than Katharine, and that would be Ben. I'm not sure whether readers were supposed to see him as a possible love interest and actually like him, but I can't guarantee everyone that I did no such thing. From about the second or third time I met him, I hated him with all my heart, viewed him with suspicion in every circumstance, and put him on my enemy list. If that was what I was supposed to do, great. If it wasn't, it doesn't change how I felt. And boy am I glad I never harbored any feelings for that boy *shudder*.

I think the author may have put it in her head to have me hate all her guy characters (besides the dear old, crazy uncle) on first sight. Well, maybe second sight. You see, my first sight of Lane was basically a hot piece of gorgeous standing in the doorway. However, that interpretation of him was ruined in the next second when he started staring down Katharine like he wanted her to disappear off the face of the Earth...which he probably did. So yeah, I hated Lane on second sight. I'd read the synopsis before reading the book, and was confounded as to how Katharine would ever come to love him. After all, Lane was nothing if not cruel and distant (and not in the way I seem to love). Unbelievably, a little further into the book, even I started falling for him.

The ending of the novel wasn't really a cliffhanger, though it sure felt like one. It was actually this weird combo of super-happy one minute and super-sad the next. Let me tell you, I didn't appreciate that super-sad part one bit. I would love to go get the second book as soon as I go to the school library again, but too bad for me I guess, because I still haven't started studying for finals:/ I guess I'll have to wait 'till later to find out what'll happen now.
Title: The Dark Unwinding
Author: Sharon Cameron
Publisher: Scholastic Press
Released August 27, 2012
Genre: YA, Steampunk

Fallen for Covers (3)

Fallen for covers is an event done ever Monday where we display our favorites of all the covers we've run across over the week. As far as I know, I'm the one who hosts this meme, though there is someone who hosts the exact same meme, with a different name. In fact, I copied it from her. So yeah.

Here are the cool covers I found from stalking other people's blogs:) I was really surprised at how I've seen most of these books before, but all with different covers...

Those are the coolest covers I fell upon over the week...which are yours?

Sunday, November 17, 2013

Is This Love? (November 17th-November 23rd)

This is a weekly meme hosted by me, but I must admit that I initially got the idea from Giselle's Fresh Batch over at Xpresso Reads. All I do here is list this week's most interesting upcoming releases so you have a heads up of which books you might want to keep an eye out for at the bookstore.

The release I'm in love with this week is:

The Fiery Heart (Bloodlines #4)
by Richelle Mead
Publisher: Razorbill
Expected Publication: November 19, 2013
Genre: YA, Romance, Vampires

In The Indigo Spell, Sydney was torn between the Alchemist way of life and what her heart and gut were telling her to do. And in one breathtaking moment that Richelle Mead fans will never forget, she made a decision that shocked even her. . . .

But the struggle isn't over for Sydney. As she navigates the aftermath of her life-changing decision, she still finds herself pulled in too many directions at once. Her sister Zoe has arrived, and while Sydney longs to grow closer to her, there's still so much she must keep secret. Working with Marcus has changed the way she views the Alchemists, and Sydney must tread a careful path as she harnesses her profound magical ability to undermine the way of life she was raised to defend. Consumed by passion and vengeance, Sydney struggles to keep her secret life under wraps as the threat of exposure—and re-education—looms larger than ever.

Pulses will race throughout this thrilling fourth installment in the New York Times bestselling Bloodlines series, where no secret is safe.

About the Author

Goodreads / Website / Twitter / Facebook
Scorpio Richelle Mead is a New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of urban fantasy books for both adults and teens. Originally from Michigan, Richelle now lives in Seattle, Washington where she works on her three series full-time: Georgina Kincaid, Dark Swan, and Vampire Academy.

A life-long reader, Richelle has always loved mythology and folklore. When she can actually tear herself away from books (either reading or writing them), she enjoys bad reality TV, traveling, trying interesting cocktails, and shopping for dresses. She's a self-professed coffee addict and has a passion for all things wacky and humorous.

Other releases this week in no particular order:

Well, those are the most interesting books I found that are coming out this week.
Which one(s) are you in love with?